The Wait is Over

I bet you guys thought that this post will be out me finally getting to Uni. Sorry to disappoint boys and girls but that is not what this post is about. This post is about the one movie I’ve been waiting for the past 2 years. That’s right! I finally watched “Dark Knight Rises.”

Here’s my somewhat spoiler free review:

I don’t know how I feel about it. On one hand, it’s a Nolan film so it obviously does not fail on the suspense front or the flawless cinematography. On the other hand, as a hardcore batman enthusiast, I’m quite disappointed with the script.

My biggest problem with the movie is cat woman. I’ve had some time to cope with the fact that he cast Anne Hathaway for the role. I’ve made peace with it. I swear. Script wise though, cat woman is seriously under developed. She’s incredibly flat, there’ nothing beneath the surface (more like under the leather suit.) I’ll give Hathaway credit though, she wasn’t as awful as  I thought. Seriously though, I know that Nolan talks a lot about keeping the Dark Knight universe as realistic as possible but seriously he could’ve given Cat woman a lot more backstory.

Christian Bale was flawless as always. That man is the literal embodiment of batman. If I had one complaint… Nope. Not a single one.

I’ll give Nolan credit. The man knows how to pick a cast. Marion Cotillard was.. I don’t want to spoil but you’ll know what I mean when you see it. Tom Hardy made a great Bane. His creepy voice is still stuck in my head. Joseph Gordon Levitt.. Did I ever mention how much I love JGL? Well I do. There were rumors that JGL was going to be the villain in this movie (they thought it was going to be riddler), which I was pretty psyched for. JGL would’ve made a great villain but he still gave a great performance.

My main issue with the movie that’s stopping me from raving about it is the script. Compared to Dark Knight there’s really no character development. Nothing that makes the characters pop. Nolan was clever enough to add mystery to the villains to distract from that though. The second and biggest issue is the ending. If this was a Marvel movie and not a D.C comics one, I’d totally be okay with suspending my sense of reality. However, this is not a Marvel movie. This is not Thor or Captain America. This is Batman. Nolan promised a realistic version of my beloved childhood comic and he didn’t deliver. I was really expecting a somber ending. I was actually looking forward to seeing a Hollywood movie that didn’t end so happily. Let’s just say I was disappointed.  Not cool Chris Nolan. Not cool at all. I did not punish my bladder for close to three hours just so that you give me a candy coated ending. I almost wish he didn’t make this movie. Yes, I went there.

All my whining aside, I’ll probably watch this movie again like a gazillion other times but I still felt the need to express my disappoint to you dear reader.

Side note: for those of you acquainted with the batman universe. How awesome would it be if Nolan made a Nightwing movie starring JGL? I think he’d prob make a pretty amazing Dick Grayson.

By the way, how cute is this?

It happened in the midst of a massive crowd scene on Wall Street in Manhattan, during a fight sequence between their two characters.

“It was the first time I ever heard Christian say he was tired,” Hardy remembers. “I was watching him for however many months getting beaten up and wet and cold, and he never said anything. Inside, I was dying, but I was thinking, ‘This can’t bother me because he’s not bothered.’ But on Wall Street, he just turned and said, ‘You know what? I’m exhausted.’ I said, ‘Me too.’”

“We stopped the fight and started hugging each other,” Bale adds.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

